Skip to content

Free Book

Russian fairy tales for winter

Growing up, I loved Russian fairy-tales, but when I tried reading them to my son, in Arizona, he wasn’t impressed. The stories felt foreign and dated to both of us. But I still loved the characters and the magic of these Russian fairy-tales, so I decided to write a series aimed at American kids.

The series includes six chapter books for readers aged between 6 and 9.

The Firebird: Adventure One

This is the first book in the series. In it, ten-year-old Alex and his nine-year-old sister Katie discover a portal that leads them into the magical world of the Firebird. That world quickly becomes dangerous…


Firebird and Russian fairy tales

All Alex wants to do during his summer vacation is travel to Russia with his mom, dad, and sister Katie.

But that’s not what happens. Mom and dad take off on their own, leaving Alex and Katie in a creepy old house with their weird Aunt Karina.

Alex is upset and disappointed and thinks that his summer is ruined. But then, he and Katie discover Aunt Karina’s magical library and an old fireplace.

At the back of the fireplace is a secret door, a portal into the magical world of the Firebird.

Ready for some excitement, Alex and Katie jump through the portal and ran off into the meadow looking for the Firebird and fun adventures.

Instead, they find Baba Yaga, the Russian witch. Or, rather, she finds them as they lose their way in the dark forest.

“We got a little lost,” Alex says to Baba Yaga.

“And now you may get a little eaten!” Baba Yaga responds and takes a step closer…

Lollipop: Adventure Two

An evil Russian tsar captures a young fisherman and throws him into a  tower for the rest of his life. Alex and Katie rush to help but get lost on the way to the palace.

Snowdrops: Adventure Three

A warm June morning turns bitterly cold. Thick white snowflakes fall from the sky, covering the fresh green grass and freezing flowers. Masha, a little girl, gets lost in the unexpected storm that could turn deadly. She needs Alex and Katie to help her.

Grandma Witch: Adventure Four

Baba Yaga, the Russian witch, captures the Guardian of Light and immersed the whole forest into total darkness. A three-headed dragon kidnaps a little girl. It is up to Alex and Katie to save the little girl, defeat the evil dragon, and bring sunlight back into the forest.

Cinderella and Her Prince: Adventure Five

Cinderella is in big trouble. Her beloved Prince never came back from his horseback ride in the forest, and she is devastated. It is up to Alex and Katie to find the Prince and restore order in the kingdom.

The Nutcracker and the Christmas Spirit: Adventure Six

This chapter book is a fast-paced and exciting adventure with a message for the season: the power of the Christmas spirit can melt the darkest of hearts.